LERU : League of European Research Universities

League of European Research Universities

The League of European Research Universities (LERU) is an association of
twenty-one leading research-intensive universities that share the values of high-quality teaching within an environment of internationally competitive research.

Founded in 2002, LERU advocates education through an awareness of the frontiers of human understanding; the creation of new knowledge through basic research, which is the ultimate source of innovation in society; and the promotion of research across a broad front in partnership with industry and society at large.

The purpose of the League is to advocate these values, to influence policy in Europe and to develop best practice through mutual exchange of experience. LERU regularly publishes a variety of papers and reports which make high-level policy statements, provide in-depth analyses and make concrete recommendations for policymakers, universities, researchers and other stakeholders.

LERU members

The LERU universities are:

  • University of Amsterdam
  • Universitat de Barcelona
  • University of Cambridge
  • University of Edinburgh
  • University of Freiburg
  • Université de Genève
  • Universität Heidelberg
  • University of Helsinki
  • Universiteit Leiden
  • KU Leuven
  • Imperial College London
  • University College London
  • Lund University
  • University of Milan
  • Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München
  • University of Oxford
  • Pierre & Marie Curie University
  • Université Paris-Sud
  • University of Strasbourg
  • Utrecht University
  • University of Zurich


Follow us on Twitter


LERU welcomes AEARU signing the Hefei Statement

11 April 2014

The Association of East Asian Research Universities (AEARU) has signed up to the Hefei Statement on the Characteristics of Contemporary Research Universities.

Find out more...

LERU’s Chief Policy Officer attends VERA Focus Group

07 April 2014

On Friday 4 April 2014, LERU’s Chief Policy Officer, Dr. Katrien Maes, attended the VERA Focus Group at the Manchester Institute of Innovation Research (MIoIR).

Find out more...

New KU Leuven career center aims to make staff and young researchers ‘career self-reliant’

03 April 2014

KU Leuven has launched a new Career Center to provide its 13,000 employees with career advancement counseling. A Young Researchers' Careers (YouReCa) unit has also been established to address the career-related questions and needs of young researchers.

Find out more...

Université de Genève opens liasion office at Yonsei University, Seoul

01 April 2014

On 18 March 2014, UNIGE inaugurated the "University of Geneva Yonsei Center" at Yonsei University International Campus in Songdo near Seoul, South Korea.

Find out more...


E-Learning Working Group Meeting in Brussels

23 April 2014

The E-Learning Working group will meet at the Neth-ER House in Brussels on 23 and 24 April 2014.

Find out more...

Meeting of the Senior Officers in Cambridge

28 April 2014

The University of Cambridge will host the next Senior Officers meeting on 28 and 29 April 2014.

Find out more...

Board of Directors Meeting in Helsinki

16 May 2014

The LERU Board of Directors will take place at the University of Helsinki on Friday 16 May 2014.

Find out more...

Rectors’ Assembly in Helsinki

16 May 2014

The Rectors of the LERU Universities meet at the University of Helsinki on 16 and 17 May 2014.

Find out more...

LERU Spring Reception

22 May 2014

On Thursday 22 May 2014 LERU organises a Spring Reception for its EU research affairs network (EU officials and other stakeholders). Keynote speaker at this event will be Professor Peter Piot.

Find out more...