LERU Communities bring together representatives from all member universities to work on LERU policy or collaborative issues in certain areas. Communities may be created at the request of the Rectors’ Assembly or by a proposal to the BoD/RA from one or more LERU members or the LERU Office. They operate on a continuing basis and are usually led by a steering group in collaboration with a LERU Office member. Communities generally meet once or twice a year in plenary meetings.

At the moment there are 11 LERU communities:

  • Chief Information Officers
  • Directors of Communication
  • Doctoral Studies
  • Enterprise and Innovation
  • European Research Project Managers
  • Research Careers
  • Senior Officers
  • Social Sciences and Humanities
  • Vice-Rectors for Teaching and Learning
  • Vice-Rectors for Research