LERU Members

LERU is a consortium of some of the most renowned research universities in Europe. Founded in 2002, as a partnership of 12 leading multi-faculty research universities, the League expanded its membership to 23 universities in 2017. Member universities are based in 12 European countries. 

Membership, which is by invitation, is periodically evaluated against a broad set of quantitative and qualitative criteria, such as research volume, impact and funding, strengths in PhD training, size and disciplinary breadth, and peer-recognised academic excellence.